It is well, with my soul

Today I received a thoughtful gift from a dear friend, a journal with a gorgeous cover. The cover read “It is well with my soul.”

I have also been using a mug I bought some time ago and had shipped to Ontario. My mom brought it out to me when she was here, as I obviously would not be heading there. The mug says “Turn your eyes upon Jesus.”

These two hymns are two of my favourites and I know God is speaking to me each morning with the timing of these lyrics in my daily routine.

This morning was hard. Ezra woke up at 6:30 and he was obviously not okay. I did get medications into him between 7:30 and 8, but nothing was picking up his mood.

He’s incredibly weak. A video his uncle posted of him fishing on the July long weekend brought tears to my eyes. It still blows my mind that Ezra really did get this sick in under a month. In that video Ezra was giggling and jumping around, trying to touch a fish that he had just caught. He was behaving like a happy and normal five-year-old boy.

Today he’s moaning when he’s most uncomfortable, he’s walking a bit stiff because his joints hurt, and he can’t walk far without needing a break.

Our spunky little boy is still in there though. He smirks when he farts, he is building a LEGO jungle when he feels up to it, and he’s passionately eating pizza. That’s right, the steroid cravings have moved on from Wendy’s Jr Bacon Cheeseburgers to pizza and pasta, and all things protein. This morning for breakfast he had a ham sandwich, followed by eggs and sausage for lunch and pizza for dinner.

LEGO with Dad

We are grateful he is eating, but now we just need to get a few vegetables into him.

Another friend stopped by for a quick visit this morning. I was grateful for the chance to go for a walk outside and just speak freely. I remarked to her that through all of this, Cody and I know we are being carried by an army of angels.

We were devastated and shell-shocked after hearing his diagnosis. But it wasn’t long before our home community and our faith community rallied behind us. It’s because of all the prayers said on our behalf that, beyond that first 48 hours, I have never felt alone. I have never been terrified regarding Ezra, and I haven’t worried continuously about what comes next. In those first 48 hours every single one of our largest needs were met by the generosity of others. In the next 48 hours many of our smaller needs were also met. Then, over the next days people have continued to show up for us in meaningful ways. For all of this, we are beyond grateful.

So, it is with gratitude that today I can end my day knowing that it is well with my soul because I have turned my eyes upon Jesus.

Leave a comment