Chocolate Coconut Protein Bars

Well we’re back from our two-week stay at my parents place in Ontario, and while the little monkey and I are happy to be back in our own space, I think we both agree (and Daddy might agree sometimes too!) that our own space is just too far away from the Feddema family. We’ll start working on rectifying that problem ASAP…

Yesterday was spent unpacking suitcases, getting groceries and getting organized after travelling. Today I got back on track with my workout, completing two workouts instead of just one. Going on vacation put me about 10 days behind, so I am going to do my best to double up on the workouts and catch up this week.

I also decided to prepare some protein bars to have in the house for when my snack attacks hit. I found this recipe for Chocolate Coconut Protein Bars and thought it looked pretty great. As I was making them though I realized they didn’t actually have any protein powder in them, and I wanted to use some of our protein powder. I added it in, which then meant of course I had to make a few more changes to the recipe to prevent the bars from crumbling. Did I mention these bars are no-bake? Super simple and they are quite delicious.

Chcolate Coconut Protein Bars

The Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup fresh dates, room temperature and chopped
  • 3/4 cup peanuts
  • 8 Tbsp IsaCrunch Hemp Hearts
  • 5 Tbsp shredded coconut
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 scoops IsaPro Vanilla Whey Protein
  • 2 Tbsp chocolate chips, chopped
  • 6 tsp coconut oil

Directions

1. Place the dates in a large bowl and set aside. Combine nuts, hemp and coconut flakes in a food processor or high-powered blender (I used my Ninja) and pulse for 30 seconds to one minutes, until nuts have released their oils and large chunks become very small. Add extract and pulse again for 10 seconds.

2. Add nut mixture to the dates and mix with your hands. Continue to mix until everything is thoroughly combined and sticky.

3. Add the chocolate chips, whey protein and coconut oil and continue to mix until everything is evenly mixed. You’ll know you’ve mixed it enough when the mixture retains its shape when squeezed into a small ball.

4. Press mixture firmly into a 8 inch square pan. Refrigerate for at least one hour before cutting. I cut mine into 15 smaller squares, but the size is really up to you. Wrap individually for easy snacks and store in the fridge or freezer.

Then, because I was in a baking mood and Elijah was having a great nap, I made these Strawberry Banana Muffins by Two Peas and Their Pod. I haven’t tried one yet, but aren’t they pretty? The best part? Since Cody is allergic to strawberries, these are all for me!

IMG_0172

One thought on “Chocolate Coconut Protein Bars

Leave a comment